July 6, 2006

Wheaton’s Wisdom

Posted in Celebrities, Personal, Writing at 11:45 pm by Calico Jack

Wil Wheaton–former Star Trek actor, husband, father, proud geek, and writer–also happens to be a blogger. His blog is on my short list of websites that I read daily (or whenever he updates.) Wil writes about life in a way that few others do; from playing in poker tournaments, to bonding with his stepsons, to describing the struggles that come with being an actor in Hollywood, his posts are always thoughtful and candid. Even when I may not agree with him, Wil still makes me think. He has earned a lot of respect in the blogging community because he never writes to gain an audience or increase his website traffic; he writes for himself.

Today, Wil put up the best piece of writing that I have read in a very long time. Even Wil’s pedestrian posts are excellent, but once in a while he lets his inner author shine. His post perfectly describes the struggles that most writers go through in dealing with mental blocks, when there are wonderful stories eagerly waiting to be let out of their minds…but they just can’t seem to find the right words. Writing is a long, sometimes frustrating process; and Wil understands it as well as anyone. Just read this conversation he had with his inner critic:

“The point is, you’ve known all along who you are and what you’re meant to do. You’re a geek who is meant to create and perform. But you’re also a family man. You adore your family, and even though your relationship with your boys has been consistently and steadily undermined, you’ve never given up on them, nor they on you. Even though you often feel like you’re not doing enough as a husband, your wife has never given up on you, nor you on her. Even though you frequently feel like the black sheep of your conservative family, you’ve never given up on each other. You’re domesticated, alright, but that is okay.

“You had to figure that out, because what you do is not who you are, but if you don’t know and embrace who you are — ”

“I’ll never be able to relax, settle down, and tell those stories I want to create.” I said.

“Exactly. Do you know why you have had writer’s block for so long? Do you understand why you’ve felt frustrated, uninspired, and unmotivated?”

“Because if I didn’t push myself to a certain point, I wouldn’t have taken the time to examine my life and realize that the domestication which I thought was so horrible isn’t really domestication as much as it’s a happy acceptance that I’m an adult now, and — excuse me.”

Read the whole thing. It’s long, but it is also well worth your time. And I think his ending is absolutely sublime.

1 Comment »

  1. Wynne said,

    That phrase, “he never writes to gain an audience…he writes for himself” really got me. I have been doing personal writing off-and-on for years, but I get caught up in the idea of writing for an audience, and when I do that I censor myself.

    I have just read “Just a Geek”, and that after watching “Stand by Me” a week or so ago. I am very impressed with Wil’s writing, and his acting in that movie.(Star Trek TNG regrettably slipped under my radar [sorry, Wil})

    I’m just person who likes to write but is not sure if she wants to do it seriously.

    Any input on this is welcome.

    Wynne Lewis


Leave a Reply

