June 29, 2006

Being A Better Boyfriend, part 2

Posted in Personal, Relationships at 2:41 pm by Elizabeth Swann

This is the second of a two-part series. The first half can be found here.

11. Support and encourage her in whatever she does. A girl likes that feeling of acceptance from her man, and knowing that you are there to back her up one hundred percent will give her an added boost of self-confidence. If she comes to you with her problems, help her out and don’t just shrug them off, assuming they will pass in time.

12. Surprise her with a phone call or visit. Spontaneity is always good for a relationship, and what better way to brighten her day than with hearing your voice or seeing your face?

13. Try never to go to bed with unresolved issues. Working out problems and miscommunications quickly spares a lot of unnecessary pain later on. Staying upset or irritated isn’t going to help anything; it’s best to just forgive and forget.

14. Stay faithful and committed to her. I know many guys are at different stages in their relationships, and some are not ready for commitment. But as long as you are with a girl, don’t be on the lookout for some other girl to catch your eye.

15. Be completely open and honest, even if you are afraid of hurting her. It is more important to tell the truth than to hide something from her because you are afraid of what she’ll say. This kind of communication is a must for a healthy relationship.

16. Don’t compare her to past girlfriends, and speak well of her when she’s not around.

17. Listen and give value to what she says. Don’t ignore her; she may actually be right.

18. Never rush into anything, and don’t pressure her.

19. Forgive her, love her, accept her, treat her with respect, and tell her that she’s beautiful.

20. Remember that good things come to those who wait. If she really is the one for you, then she is worth every second of waiting, and the sacrifices you may have to make will mean the world to her.

Well, there’s my list of the top twenty ways to be a better boyfriend. I’m sure there are countless other ways that you could think of. No matter how big or little a thing you do for your girl, it is very much appreciated and loved by her. Love is the most important thing you can have in a relationship, but everything else flows out of that love.

Calico Jack adds: These are all excellent things to think about. I wonder why so many guys (and girls) don’t seem to understand the basics of a relationship and what makes it strong. Maybe you should write a post on how to be a better girlfriend; I’m sure that many girls would enjoy hearing what you have to say about the other half of the relationship.

8 Comments »

  1. Ricky said,

    MY GIRL FOR THE PAST COUPLE MONTHS HAS TOLD ME TO FIND OUT “HOW TO BE A BETTER BOYFRIEND” AND I FINALLY DID WHEN I SHOULD HAVE DONE THIS A LONG TIME AGO NOW THAT I DID I GIVE THANKS TO THE PERSON WHO LISTED THIS NOW I GOTTA GO FIX THE PROBLEMS IVE CREATED AND TRY FOR NOW WELL NOT TRY DO WHAT I JUST READ AND HOPE SHE’LL FORGET AND FORGIVE AND TAKE ME AS A NEW WELL NOT NEW JUST IMPROVE SOUL MATE THANKS AGAIN

  2. kyle said,

    i also give thanx to the person who took the time to help sruggling boyfriends,my girl always tell’s me ‘where the guy i fell in love with?’.I hope i can use these words that were posted and be that guy my girl fell in love with. Its not like i dont know how or want to be a gentleman, i just sometimes forget where i stand in the relationship.

  3. Chance Young said,

    I have spent the past week in fear. I worry ever second of the day what my Girlfriend is doing. For almost two years now I have hid feelings inside about how i truly felt about her. I am so in love with her and i have been. I feel like it is all coming to an end, and i guess they say that at the end you finally realize what you got… now that its leaving. I have been trying to find someone to spill my guts out since my girlfriend tells me she just needs time to do what she wants to do. We were suppose to get married. I made a huge mistake tonight to decide to do what i hated her doing… try and go through her phone. She has it locked now. I made big mistakes in the past, and i know why i locked my phone. I guess i deserve whatever she throws at me for my past. I will listen to this website and Wait… to let her find out what she will be missing. whether it is 2 days, 2 months, 2 years, i will stand and fight. I love Her with all of my Heart. Can someone give me any advice? She wants to do whatever she wants without me being able to get mad. We recently moved out to another state for school and it is just us out here… i do not know the people here and i am scared for our relationship and for her safety. Thank you

  4. Dan said,

    My Gf has been saying your not what u used to be, we been together nearly 2 years and ive made alot of mistakes and through these ideas should give me the will to become a good bf again, thanks to who ever wrote this

  5. jesse said,

    I started reading this while waiting for my sweetheart to get out of the shower and call me back, as i got to the second page of this she called me back i found it hard to read this and talk to her at the same time, but i did.
    I realized while talking to her and while reading this page that i really feel that if i were to lose this girl it would be tremendousely terrible, i also realized that i should just forgive and forget, because sometimes she annoys me, usually the stupid fone’s fault, but then as im typing this and got a little annoyed at the fact that it was hard to think of what im saying and carry on a conversation with her, that i smiled and that even the little things she says are funny. I am extremely glad i read this, and alot of people say that if you can make it past the first year you can make it as far as you wish to make it. and its almost been 1 year. and i am extremely glad that i read this i will always keep in mind the little things, and i try my hardest to do them, such as opening the car door.

  6. tyler said,

    I have been dating my girlfriend for almost a year now, and we have had our share of arguments. All relationships are difficult, however ours has been incredibly more difficult than any relationship i have ever been in because it is a long distance relationship. After reading this page I understand better some of the reasons we have had arguments and I am going to do anything and everything not to loose the love of my life.

  7. aaron said,

    my and my girlfriend just broke up we always fight and now she won’t come back to me till i treat her better and i have been trying but it doesn’t do anything no she is about to go out with some other guy and its all my fault i love her so much i miss her so much. and if i didnt fight with her then she would still be with me she says she doesnt love me anymore cuz of the fights some one help me please i really love this girl and i need her some one please help me

  8. ryan said,

    Aaron, be patient. Accept being wrong and even if you are right, let her think she is. Dont keel over but YOU DONT HAVE TOnecessarily shoot for violence when u disagree. turn it into a flirt by maybe a mock with a sudden smile, then a tickle or something. Ive found the best way to diffuse is by being cute and jus showing her u really care. however, if more serious thhan you basic disagreement then dedicate more mind power to it than you would college calculus. if you show you care, and are trying to work it out, then things should work out. JUST


Leave a Reply

